CDHM Council

The CDHM Council governs, controls, and administers the affairs of the College in accordance with The Dental Hygienists Act.

The Council deals with College business through the appointment of the Registrar/Executive Director.

ENDS Policies are council policy statements that describe the reason for the organization’s existence and provide strategic direction for the College. Ends policies are developed based on the Council’s knowledge of and interaction with the owners – those to whom the Council is morally accountable.


The College of Dental Hygienists of Manitoba exists so that people in Manitoba have ethical, competent dental hygiene care with responsible stewardship of resources.

This MEGA END is interpreted to include, but is not limited to, these 2nd level (and subsequent levels of) ENDS.


2.1 Registered dental hygienists (RDHs) provide competent and ethical care to their full scope of practice in all settings.

2.1.1 RDHs use evidence-informed practice.

2.2 RDHs have the increased scope of practice, cultural competence, and elimination of setting restrictions to meet the oral hygiene needs of diverse populations in Manitoba.

2.3 Policy-makers and the public are aware of the impact of oral health on overall health. 

2.3.1 RDHs are recognized as primary health professionals.

2.3.2 RDHs work in collaboration with other care providers.

2.3.3 Manitobans are aware of the role and contributions of RDHs in health care.

2.3.4 Policy-makers have the information required to establish policies that enable equitable access to RDH care for underserved populations in Manitoba, including but not limited to seniors and children, Indigenous populations, and individuals in rural and remote communities.

The 2022/2023 CDHM Council:

Registered Dental Hygienists

Saima Klippenstein (Council Co-Vice Chair)
Lorraine Glassford 
Felonie Johnson 
Corinne Latozke
Jennifer Miller
Joan St. Laurent

Public Representatives

Carol Hiscock 
Lucie Boutet (Council Co-Vice Chair)
Kathleen Reid (Interim Council Chair)