

# COLLEGE OF DENTAL HYGIENISTS OF MANITOBA (CDHM) ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM) MINUTES

October 4, 2023, 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm Virtual AGM via Zoom

Attendees: 334

Guests Mary Bertone, Director, University of Manitoba School of Dental Hygiene

Jennifer Upward, President, Manitoba Dental Hygienists Association (MDHA)

Mark Jones, Chartered Professional Accountant, Olafson & Jones

# Welcome, Greetings & Introductions

i. Katheen Reid, Interim Chair, welcomed attendees to the 4<sup>th</sup> virtual, and 15<sup>th</sup> overall, Annual General Meeting.

- ii. Kathleen read a Land Acknowledgement and reviewed house-keeping items.
- iii. Greetings from the University of Manitoba, School of Dental Hygiene Mary Bertone
- iv. Greetings from MDHA- Jennifer Upward

# **Business Meeting**

#### 1. Call to Order

Kathleen Reid, interim Chair, called the meeting to order at 7:10 pm and advised quorum was met.

- i. Kathleen asked the CDHM Council to introduce themselves:
  - a. Carol Hiscock, Public Rep.
  - b. Corinne Latozke, RDH
  - c. Felonie Johnson, RDH
  - d. Lorraine Glassford, RDH
  - e. Lucie Boutet, Public Rep
  - f. Jennifer Miller, RDH
  - g. Joan Pelletier RDH
  - h. Saima Klippenstein, RDH
- ii. Kathleen introduced the CDHM staff and other Guests:
  - a. Arlynn Brodie, Executive Director/Registrar, CDHM
  - b. Valerie Olivier, Deputy Registrar, CDHM
  - c. Annie Brown, Registration and Administrative Assistant, CDHM
  - d. Mark Jones, Olafson & Jones
  - e. Bryce Fulton, IT assistance

# 2. Meeting Protocol- Virtual Voting & Rules of Order

Felonie Johnson reviewed the voting procedures and the Standing Rules of Order which were emailed to all attendees in advance.

#### 3. Approval of 2023 AGM Agenda

The 2023 AGM Agenda was circulated via e-mail to all registrants prior to the meeting.



**Motion:** Move to approve the 2023 AGM Agenda as presented

**Moved:** Kathleen Reid No seconder required

#### **Motion Carried**

#### 4. Approval of the 2022 AGM Minutes

The 2022 AGM Minutes were circulated via e-mail to all registrants prior to the meeting.

**Motion:** Move to approve the 2022 AGM Minutes as presented.

**Moved:** Kathleen Reid No seconder required

#### **Motion Carried**

# 5. Annual Reports

- i. Interim Chair's Report: Kathleen Reid (Report filed)
  - a. 2024 Fees Report: Saima Klippenstein (Report filed)
- ii. Executive Director/Registrar's Report: Arlynn Brodie (Report filed)
- iii. Council Committee Reports:
  - a. Nominations Committee Report: Jennifer Miller (Report filed)
  - b. Ownership Linkage Committee Report: Lucie Boutet (Report filed)
  - c. RHPA Report: Corinne Latozke (Report filed)
  - d. Professional Practice Committee Report: Valerie Olivier (Report filed)
- iv. Legislated Committee Reports
  - a. Board of Assessors: Candra Shuwera (Report filed)
  - b. Complaints: Lila Jorheim MacInnes (Report filed)
  - c. Inquiry: Kristin Holt (Report filed)
  - d. Continuing Competency: Suzanne Morin (Report filed)

**Motion:** Move to approve the 2023 Annual Reports as presented.

**Moved:** Kathleen Reid **Second:** Lezah Evan

### **Motion Carried**

#### 6. Review of the Financial Statements

Approval of the Financial Statements

Lorraine Glassford introduced Mark Jones CA, CPA, Olafson & Jones, Chartered Professional Accountants Inc. Mark presented the Financial Review for the fiscal year 2022-2023. He directed members to the Annual Report to follow along as he explained the Financial Review page by page to meeting attendees.

**Motion:** That the Auditor's Report be accepted as presented.



**Moved:** Lorraine Glassford **Second:** Cindy Isaak- Ploegman

#### **Motion Carried**

# ii. Appointment of the Auditor

**Motion:** Move to retain the firm of Olafson & Jones, Chartered Professional Accountants Inc. to perform the Financial Review for the College of Dental Hygienists of Manitoba for the fiscal year of May 1, 2023, to April 30, 2024.

**Moved:** Lorraine Glassford **Second:** Cindy Isaak-Ploegman

#### Motion carried

# 7. Proposed By Law Change

Joan Pelletier read the proposed changes to bylaw 2.2 and bylaw 3.12. The changes were circulated to all members via email prior to the meeting.

**Motion:** Move to accept the proposed change to bylaw 2.2

**Moved:** Joan Pelletier **Second**: Sherri Hurdel

#### Motion carried

Motion: Move to accept the proposed change to bylaw 3.12

**Moved:** Joan Pelletier **Second**: Kyla Peters

#### Motion carried

# 8. Election and Welcome to new Council member

Saima Klippenstein introduced Harriet Rosenbaum to the membership.

**Motion:** Move to appoint Harriet Rosenbaum to a 3-year term on the Council of the College of Dental Hygienists of Manitoba.

**Moved:** Saima Klippenstein **Second:** Karina Hiebert

# **Motion carried**

# 9. Honoring Outgoing Council Member

Carol Hiscock and others thanked outgoing Council member Jennifer Miller for her contribution to the CDHM Council

# 10. Adjournment

Kathleen Reid, Interim Chair, adjourned the 2023 CDHM AGM at 7:55pm.